M.D/J.D. employment prospects? Forum

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
JoblessAndHopeless

New

M.D/J.D. employment prospects?

Post by JoblessAndHopeless » Sat Mar 17, 2018 5:05 pm

Hey guys, long time lurker here.

I graduated with my medical degree in U.S. in 2014 and after stints in couple residencies, I've had enough with clinical medicine. Long story short, I wanted out from clinical medicine, and so left residency.

I've always been interested in law, and even thought of going to law school instead of medical school in undergrad, but my parents steered me away, as they'd rather see their darling little boy become a doctor instead, ugh.

My question is, what is the job prospect for M.D./J.D. graduate who wants to work in law?
I know (from looking at Vale of Tears thread), employment prospects in law are not so good nowadays.

Would it be any different for dual degree holders? I would imagine lot of medical malpractice cases would be advantageous if handled by M.D./J.D. attorneys?

I just want to make sure this would be the right path before I sink my time, effort, and money into law school.

Thanks.

fire_ice

New

Re: M.D/J.D. employment prospects?

Post by fire_ice » Sat Mar 17, 2018 9:36 pm

Sorry if this is not helpful in a way you wanted, but I would go back to medicine. At this point for you, law school is not worth the time and money.
What aspects of clinical medicine did you dislike? There must be specialty that doesn't involve much of aspects you dislike. Also, have you considered research?