Anyone else have trouble relaxing? Forum

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
timmyd

Bronze

Anyone else have trouble relaxing?

Post by timmyd » Sat Mar 10, 2018 1:20 pm

I just started at a new firm his past week. I'm a general civil lit attorney and there is a ton of work to do, including a trial in May. That said, my boss said he didn't expect me to even bill thirty hours this week, as I'm obviously still getting used to things in a new city/firm. So I billed prolly like 35 hours this week.

Still, it's Saturday and I'm having trouble just relaxing. Which leads to my broader question: how do people relax in this field? Its stressful, especially being an employee. I drink a little but hate drinking to excess. I also am having trouble sleeping because I'm always nervous.

eastcoast_iub

Bronze

Re: Anyone else have trouble relaxing?

Post by eastcoast_iub » Sat Mar 10, 2018 3:06 pm

Smoke some weed. Seriously.

Also, exercise.

Civilservant

New

Post by Civilservant » Sat Mar 10, 2018 6:02 pm

How many kids do you have? If the answer is less than one, go out and do something fun. If you have one or more, buy some weed from the poster above.

thecatgoesmeow

New

Post by thecatgoesmeow » Mon Mar 12, 2018 7:53 pm

All the time. The longer I am at my firm, the worse it gets. On Friday evenings I already have anxiety about Monday mornings. You aren't alone in feeling this way and I can personally attest that smoking pot by itself will not make it any better.

bruinfan10

Silver