Advice wanted

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Anonymous User

Advice wanted

Postby Anonymous User » Fri Mar 09, 2018 2:14 pm

I graduated from a T14 in May 2016. I passed a bar and started work in a litigation firm in August 2016, where I still am. My current salary is $120k with $5-10k bonus.

I want to move out of litigation and into a career with less and more consistent working hours (I plan on starting a family soon). I also value stability. Therefore, I am looking at federal jobs. I don't have the years or type of experience that most federal openings require. The only job I've gotten a callback for is a GS 11 position. Taking a GS 11 position would be quite a pay cut (although the step would matter greatly).

My current loan balance is ~118k. I am currently making $1,300/mo payments and have about 8.5 years left on the standard repayment plan.

The questions I am asking myself are:
- Can I suck it up for 8-9 more years until I get this paid off? But by then, will I have too much experience in my niche field to land a federal job?
- If I take the GS 11 job, will I have enough money to live off of and save securely? GS 11 + $1,300/mo in loan payments is very tough. My take home net would be slim.