When is late "too late" Forum

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
BOSStongrl

New

When is late "too late"

Post by BOSStongrl » Sat Feb 17, 2018 1:27 pm

i’m a 1L and currently have a 3.58 (top 11%) at a T3 in NYC. I have 4 years of experience working in law firms as intern, paralegal, etc. My most recent job I worked for 2.5 years with a company with 100+ lawyers, and worked directly with the SVP. I’ve been EXTREMELY picky with jobs, only applying to paid positions at $20+ an hour (really don’t understand how financial aid expects you to live off the pennies they give out.. but that’s another matter). 

I haven’t heard anything, I know some are still under review but i’m getting nervous. So at what point will, essentially, all legal internships for the summer be filled to the point that it would even be unlikely to get ANY internship? obviously i’m new to this possess, so i’m concerned that if i don’t start applying to every single job posted soon I’ll be screwed and won’t have any position at all. It’s just tough money wise to pay for rent and commuting fees for an unpaid position.

Can anyone offer any insight? is it even likely to get a paid internship? And when should i start worrrying?

cron1834

Gold

Re: When is late "too late"

Post by cron1834 » Sat Feb 17, 2018 2:36 pm

It's entirely possible that you land a paid summer job. But, coming from a third tier school, you're going to want to run some numbers re: how you can survive without one, because I think that's the probable outcome.

Mr. Archer