Going in-house early to a PE fund or staying in biglaw (1.5 years) Forum

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Anonymous User

Going in-house early to a PE fund or staying in biglaw (1.5 years)

Post by Anonymous User » Mon Feb 12, 2018 12:22 am

Note: I've read a lot of topics on this, but it seems to me that most of the posts are choosing between a very stable F500 in house role and a big law role and not a more volatile middle-market fund. I wanted to get any opinions that may pop-up b/c of this difference.

I'm a MVP grad making a move from my current firm, a v5 in a non-NYC large market, and have received an offer from another v5 in the same non-NYC large market (dc/sf/chi) to do M&A work. I have also received an offer from a middle market private equity fund doing high-level term sheet and legal doc negotiations leveraging outside counsel. I would be joining a young fund which has roughly $4 billion AUM and is about five years old as one of three junior attorneys working directly under one of the co-founders (non-attorney). Pay is 130k (50 base / 50 bonus) with a raise to 165 in my second year as a I move up a title. I'd be 3-4 years away from carried interest.