Two Weeks Notice as a Fed Forum

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Anonymous User

Two Weeks Notice as a Fed

Post by Anonymous User » Wed Jan 31, 2018 12:07 pm

I'm an relatively new attorney working at a federal agency - I started roughly six months ago. I ended up strongly disliking the job after finishing my training period, and after submitting a hail mary application to a nearby prestigious state government office that does work in my desired area of law, I got an offer. Suffice to say that I'm aware that leaving six months in looks bad, but I'm chalking it up to making a mistake by leaving my original field of law for something I find mind-numbingly boring and professionally stifling.

What's the deal with resigning from federal service? Is the norm to give two weeks, or is it expected/acceptable to give more/less? If I give more notice (new job starts in about a month), is there gonna be a likelihood that they'll ask me to leave sooner or do weird stuff with my workload and pending assignments?

Thanks for the help!

cedarseoul

New

Re: Two Weeks Notice as a Fed

Post by cedarseoul » Wed Jan 31, 2018 1:16 pm

I can't imagine a federal agency would ask you to leave sooner than you've requested; the fedgov employment relationship is carefully constrained by policies and procedures. Nobody wants to do anything that appears retaliatory.