Jumping from Family Law Forum

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Akriant

New

Jumping from Family Law

Post by Akriant » Tue Jan 09, 2018 10:51 pm

I guess the topic says it all.

I am a 2015 graduate from a regional school in Midwest. Worked for slightly less than two years for legal aid giving out advices on variety of questions, and then mostly fam law and juvi cases. Recently-ish got a job in private practice fam law firm, mostly because bigger pay was offered. I can tell that fam law is draining me and I am contemplating an exit strategy within the next 2 or 3 years. Any ideas where it's realistic to jump into? I've invested my law school into business and transactional law back in law school (naive me).... buuut I am pretty sure the chances of getting anywhere near are nonexistent. Anyone can bounce some ideas?

Cynical advices are welcome as well =)

LockBox

Bronze

Re: Jumping from Family Law

Post by LockBox » Wed Jan 10, 2018 3:42 pm

Why are you looking to get out of family law? I know you said it's draining, but why? My concern is that if you "take your work home" with you, then you might burn out in another field as well.

Akriant

New

Post by Akriant » Wed Jan 10, 2018 10:22 pm

LockBox wrote:Why are you looking to get out of family law? I know you said it's draining, but why? My concern is that if you "take your work home" with you, then you might burn out in another field as well.