When do you start making money? T3 Forum

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Anonymous User

When do you start making money? T3

Post by Anonymous User » Mon Nov 13, 2017 10:50 pm

Hey so I have done 4 years of undergrad, some work experience and now 3 years of law school. I was told that lawyers always start off making low salary because " law school doesn't teach you how to be a lawyer".

I have had a few interviews ( which I am appreciative of) but the starting salaries are all abysmal. Some of the salary offers were so low that I would be making more doing pretty much any job post undergrad.

My question is if I am looking to the future, when do lawyers "catch up" so to speak? Like after 10 years have you been surpassing the people you graduated undergrad with?

I was doing some math and even if I start at these salaries and receive a 10% raise each year (unrealistic). I wont be even with their salaries until the seventh or eighth year assuming they receive raises barely above inflation...

If you factor in the extra debt its not even close. Am I missing something? Do attorneys start making good money at around 15-20 year mark enough to surpass their peers without law degrees? Can the economics of the extra education be this far off?

If you start in a decent small firm and get experience can you lateral upwards to a $100k+ pay or are you pretty much stuck at the equivalent of where you start?

JusticeJackson

Silver

Re: When do you start making money? T3