Meeting with practice group chair for drinks after cold email Forum

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Anonymous User

Meeting with practice group chair for drinks after cold email

Post by Anonymous User » Tue Oct 24, 2017 8:03 am

cold emailed senior partner and practice group chair re joining the firm. I graduated in '16. I've been in gov't work since last October and want to transition. Partner says he's happy to put my application through the "official process" but wants to meet informally first, maybe alongside a few colleagues. Fwiw, there aren't any current openings in his area listed on the firm site (but he did not mention this)

apart from relevant work experience and cool summer work, I'm a shit candidate who graduated bottom third at our shared t20. My resume is deceiving so I figure he assumes I graduated higher in my class

What's the best I can hope for??
Last edited by Anonymous User on Tue Oct 24, 2017 8:29 am, edited 1 time in total.

Hutz_and_Goodman

Gold

Re: Meeting with practice group chair for drinks after cold email

Post by Hutz_and_Goodman » Tue Oct 24, 2017 8:29 am

If they like you and think you'd be good to work with your grades probably won't matter.

Anonymous User

Post by Anonymous User » Tue Oct 24, 2017 8:30 am

Hutz_and_Goodman wrote:If they like you and think you'd be good to work with your grades probably won't matter.
A NJL 250 not caring about grades 1.5 years out?

Anonymous User

Post by Anonymous User » Tue Oct 24, 2017 11:11 am

Anonymous User wrote: