Need to switch markets next fall -- am I employable? Forum

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Anonymous User

Need to switch markets next fall -- am I employable?

Post by Anonymous User » Wed Oct 04, 2017 9:51 am

I graduated in the top 5% of my TT (ranked in the 50s-60s) in 2015. After law school, I litigated at a v100 firm in the northeast (not in MA) for 1.5 years. I wasn't thrilled with the type of cases I was being staffed on and was told that I wouldn’t get exposure to different types of cases for several more years. As a result, I began a lateral search planning to stay in biglaw, but ended up stumbling upon and accepting a job in state government.

I currently work in the non-partisan legal services office in my home state's Capitol. Our office is essentially in-house counsel to the state legislature; we advise and counsel members, and draft legislation. I like the work and love the lifestyle/benefits, but just learned that I will need to move to Boston next fall for my s/o's much more lucrative career. I am licensed in MA, but don’t have any connections there.

This will be my third job in a short amount of time and my experience is all over the place. Am I as screwed as I think I am?