Federal Government Hiring of Non-Americans? Forum

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Anonymous User

Federal Government Hiring of Non-Americans?

Post by Anonymous User » Tue Sep 26, 2017 9:21 am

Does anyone have experience or knowledge of federal government hiring of non-Americans?

I graduated from HYS, had a top appellate clerkship, and am working in big law currently. It's my dream to work for the federal government, but I don't have a green card and am working on a work visa for non-Americans.

Recently, an acquaintance who was in a similar situation started working at the DOJ's Beijing office. I kept trying to find out how she got hired given the non-American hiring restrictions, but she's being very hush-hush about the details.I also hear there is a national interest waiver for non-American hires, but I have zero experience with how that works.

Any information, even rumors of others' stories, would be helpful!

albanach

Gold

Re: Federal Government Hiring of Non-Americans?

Post by albanach » Tue Sep 26, 2017 9:25 am

Anonymous User wrote:Does anyone have experience or knowledge of federal government hiring of non-Americans?

I graduated from HYS, had a top appellate clerkship, and am working in big law currently. It's my dream to work for the federal government, but I don't have a green card and am working on a work visa for non-Americans.