Post-Clerkship/Lateral Search Advice? Forum

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Anonymous User

Post-Clerkship/Lateral Search Advice?

Post by Anonymous User » Thu Sep 21, 2017 12:06 am

Hi everyone. Here's my deal: I graduated top third from a T20, spent two years in a V30 litigation practice, and then did a one year term clerkship for a district judge (think NDCA/CDCA/DDC/EDVA). I don't want to return to my old firm (part of my reason for clerking was to trade up) but I've had some family issues and wasn't able to apply to other firms during my clerkship, even though I know that's standard practice. Now I'm out of work and applying like crazy to every V100 that's looking for litigation associates or that accepts direct applications from clerks or laterals. I've been at it for a few weeks and gotten some requests for further information (like other application documents or explanations re: why I'm in the position I'm in) but no interviews yet. I decided not to use a recruiter because I thought I'd fare better if firms didn't have to pay the headhunter fee.