Purposely Sat Out July '17 Bar Exam (May Grad): Any Hope? Forum

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Rockwell99

New

Purposely Sat Out July '17 Bar Exam (May Grad): Any Hope?

Post by Rockwell99 » Mon Sep 18, 2017 11:00 pm

Hi,

First post. Hoping you can tell me whether there's any hope I find a legal job after I graduated and purposely sat out the July '17 NYS bar exam (had a lot in my life to deal with apart from school and jobs and studying). I know it may have been foolish, but I'm in a better place now.

Now, I'm registered for next Feb. and searching for short-term legal employment, ideally with a DA/PD's office (no real preference---both do good, IMO). Would I be attractive to any offices as a recent grad who hasn't even sat for the bar? I'd like to work 2-3 days a week, both to learn, since I've never worked in a DA/PD office, and to avoid having a resume gap. Pay would be nice, a small stipend, but I don't expect anyone would offer it.

Anyway, sorry for rambling. Hoping you can share whether I'm fuct until bar results come out and if my lack of anything but a degree will screw me over short-term.

RaceJudicata

Gold

Re: Purposely Sat Out July '17 Bar Exam (May Grad): Any Hope?

Post by RaceJudicata » Mon Sep 18, 2017 11:52 pm

No specific advice... but good for you for doing what was right for you at the time. I'm sure you'll look back on skipping the bar as a blip on the radar and will be doing just fine.

Good luck!

Anonymous User

Post by Anonymous User » Tue Sep 19, 2017 8:47 am