Escape from New York Forum

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Anonymous User

Escape from New York

Post by Anonymous User » Thu Jul 27, 2017 7:43 am

I am from California and work in NY. I am a junior corporate bankruptcy attorney in a debtor shop.

I want to move back to California, but would have to take the bar/find a job. My hours are bad usually above 200 a month. Dont know how to study for the bar with the workload. No CA employer has taken any interest in my application. Frankly, there seems to be very little restructuring work in CA. Should I just up and move back to California. How do people swing this.

Anonymous User

Re: Escape from New York

Post by Anonymous User » Thu Jul 27, 2017 9:10 am

Anonymous User wrote:I am from California and work in NY. I am a junior corporate bankruptcy attorney in a debtor shop.

I want to move back to California, but would have to take the bar/find a job. My hours are bad usually above 200 a month. Dont know how to study for the bar with the workload. No CA employer has taken any interest in my application. Frankly, there seems to be very little restructuring work in CA. Should I just up and move back to California. How do people swing this.
What year are you? I've seen a couple of people move themselves into litigation or finance (literally one of each) but they were 1st years and they were mostly pitching themselves based on law school credentials.

You can also look for smaller bankruptcy shops.

Anonymous User