Big 4 U.S. Tax in HK Forum

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Anonymous User

Big 4 U.S. Tax in HK

Post by Anonymous User » Tue Jul 25, 2017 11:02 pm

Hi everyone,

I'm a recent JD graduate who has taken many tax classes in law school. Due to work visa issue, I'll need to move back to China/HK area to work. Does anyone have insight on which of the big 4 has a stronger US tax practice in HK, and which one does more advisory work than pure compliance?

Thank you so much if anyone can shed some light on this. I know this is kind of a rare question but don't know if there might be another forum where this question may be more appropriate.

Anonymous User

Re: Big 4 U.S. Tax in HK

Post by Anonymous User » Wed Jul 26, 2017 3:37 pm

I can only speak to my Big4 but in my US tax advisory practice (here in the US), foreign offices commonly reach out to us for US tax questions and/or refer work to us if there are US tax issues related to their transaction. A US tax person sitting in a foreign office would be exceedingly rare if not entirely unheard of. But we do have a program that works in the reverse where a manager or director (someone with a decent amount of experience) from a foreign office will do a 1-2 year international tax rotation in a US office, usually NYC, which may present an opportunity to make connections and potentially transfer permanently at that time.

Anonymous User

Post by Anonymous User » Wed Jul 26, 2017 8:03 pm