Visa sponsorship in BigLaw Forum

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
facetumore

New

Visa sponsorship in BigLaw

Post by facetumore » Thu Jul 20, 2017 6:44 pm

Hello, I am currently a rising sophomore and I want to get into law school after graduating. However, I will need visa sponsorship if I can't get married until then. I have seen many threads asking the same question but none of them received a real answer. It is my understanding that J.D qualifies as a H1-B Masters. So my questions are do firms sponsor visas or will it be an instant red flag? Am I dead if I loose the lottery or are overseas jobs real and is it a possibility to transfer to the US office?

Mullens

Silver

Re: Visa sponsorship in BigLaw

Post by Mullens » Thu Jul 20, 2017 7:04 pm

facetumore wrote:Hello, I am currently a rising sophomore and I want to get into law school after graduating. However, I will need visa sponsorship if I can't get married until then. I have seen many threads asking the same question but none of them received a real answer. It is my understanding that J.D qualifies as a H1-B Masters. So my questions are do firms sponsor visas or will it be an instant red flag? Am I dead if I loose the lottery or are overseas jobs real and is it a possibility to transfer to the US office?
So biglaw firms currently sponsor visas, but the visa situation might be very different six years from now given the current political climate. It's impossible to know what's gonna happen to H1-Bs by then.