Tips for lateral interview Forum

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Anonymous User

Tips for lateral interview

Post by Anonymous User » Sun Jul 16, 2017 12:53 pm

Background: I'm a 2015 grad of one GULC/UT/Vandy. I clerked at the fed dist level following graduation. I now work for a smallish firm in a tertiary market practicing general civil lit. I have an interview for a lateral position with a regional biglaw firm. The practice area is somewhat niche, and I have little direct experience with respect to same. But the firm indicated it was looking for a young lateral so I don't think my lack of experiencd disqualifies me given the interview. I also spoke to a partner before setting up the interview and told him my only experience in the niche area came during my clerkship.

Question: I just need general lateral interview tips. I know my biggest selling point is my clerkship and pretty extensive lit experience at my current firm. What are some good lateral interview questions to ask and what should I be on the lookout for?

Anonymous User

Re: Tips for lateral interview

Post by Anonymous User » Sun Jul 16, 2017 10:58 pm

Bump. Do firms typically request references after the interview stage? Or should I have a list ready. For the record, I'm interviewing with four partners.

Anonymous User

Post by Anonymous User » Mon Jul 17, 2017 7:23 am