Transactional Law Forum

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
perfunctory

Bronze

Transactional Law

Post by perfunctory » Wed Jun 28, 2017 12:49 am

My background is completely liberal arts. Would this take me completely out of the running for biglaw - corporate firms? I just realized - I have no experience to spin, nothing to use to say "i'm interested in the transactional practice of your firm." I can only say I like litigation b/c that involves research and writing. But I have obviously seen liberal arts grads in biglaw, so how did they do it?

Or, is it assumed you have no experience? Do they just look for a basic level of competency + whatever interest gained from law school?

de minimis

New

Re: Transactional Law

Post by de minimis » Wed Jun 28, 2017 12:54 am

perfunctory wrote:My background is completely liberal arts. Would this take me completely out of the running for biglaw - corporate firms? I just realized - I have no experience to spin, nothing to use to say "i'm interested in the transactional practice of your firm." I can only say I like litigation b/c that involves research and writing. But I have obviously seen liberal arts grads in biglaw, so how do they do it?

Or, is it assumed you have no experience? Do they just look for a basic level of competency + whatever interest gained from law school?