Setting myself up for US Attorneys Forum

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
ughbugchugplug

Bronze

Setting myself up for US Attorneys

Post by ughbugchugplug » Tue Jun 27, 2017 4:29 pm

I'm aiming for NJ's US attorney's office in a few years. What should I be doing to prepare for that? I graduated this year as top 5% at a low t14, have extensive moot court stuff (no wins, but high placement) and won a multi-school arbitration competition. I was on a journal but basically did nothing on it. I'll be working at a v10's litigation department in the fall and have a state supreme court clerkship the year after.

What more do I need? A district court clerkship? I'm looking for those at the moment but unfortunately haven't locked one down yet. Federal COA? I could try but I haven't even gotten any bites yet. How long should I stay at the firm before I should start looking to leave? Thoughts and suggestions appreciated. I realize it'll probably be a crapshoot one way or the other, but if there's something I'm not doing that could help, I'd like to know.

clerk1251

Bronze

Re: Setting myself up for US Attorneys

Post by clerk1251 » Tue Jun 27, 2017 4:38 pm