Current Job w/ Benefits vs. Potential Job w/ No Benefits Forum

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.

Stay or Go

Stay at Current Job
33%
Go to New Job
67%

Total votes: 9

Anonymous User

Current Job w/ Benefits vs. Potential Job w/ No Benefits

Post by Anonymous User » Thu May 18, 2017 3:19 pm

I'm in my third year as an associate in a mid-market town. I make about $57k per year and have full benefits (401k, health insurance, HSA, etc.). I get along well with the attorneys here (firm has about 15-20 lawyers), but I am constantly engaged in so many practice areas that I feel that my head might fall off. Just this week I'm doing domestic relations, workers' comp defense, criminal defense, and other random civil litigation. In all honesty, I'm pretty tired with this job and don't see a long term future here.

Another job has come up with a very reputable solo attorney who has a successful PI and criminal defense practice. He's looking to bring me on to run his PI practice and bring in my own civil clients.

Starting salary would be about $60k, but there's two big differences: no benefits (other than an IRA), BUT I'd bring home about 10-12% of receipts. I think this has he chance to be a huge raise.

I should also note that my long term goal is to solo, and I think going to this smaller firm will be a master's course in how to run my own firm.