Fiance won't quit stressful job Forum

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Anonymous User

Fiance won't quit stressful job

Post by Anonymous User » Thu May 18, 2017 10:31 am

I've posted this in the legal employment section, but I apologize if this is not the proper sub-forum for this post.

My fiance is a public defender in a major city. She graduated from law school in 2015 from a Top-5 school (not Yale). After graduating, she began working as a public defender and she really liked her job. I'm also an attorney and I've been practicing for 5 years. We plan to get married by the end of this year.

Although she enjoys some aspects of her job, the constant stress has really taken a toll on her and on our relationship. For the past two years, she's been unable to enjoy one single weekend, a day off or an afternoon because of the dread of going back to work. She doesn't want to go out, doesn't want to work out, etc because she's just too nervous or anxious about her job.

Recently, however, the stress has reached a whole new level. Because of the stress, she's worsen a pre existing medical condition. For the last 2 months, she's spent 20-25 days in the hospital. Today she's undergoing major surgery and I write this post from the hospital lobby.