Is there a correlation btw Contracts law and Corporate law practice? Forum

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Anonymous User

Is there a correlation btw Contracts law and Corporate law practice?

Post by Anonymous User » Fri Apr 28, 2017 6:01 pm

I have extensive business experience prior to law school so I thought I would want to practice corporate law.

In reality, I sucked at Contracts law in law school and even a bar exam. I also suck at litigation subjects (CivilPro, Evidence). So I guess that I suck at more technical stuff. I seem to be good at real estate law, torts, and IP law. I liked securities law as well.

I have been unemployed since graduation and started to wonder if I should change my focus in terms of practice areas. For instance, I haven't applied to a position in real estate, personal injury or product liability law firms.

Can anyone give me some advice? Any anecdotes?
How did you guys decide your practice area?

kellyfrost

Platinum

Re: Is there a correlation btw Contracts law and Corporate law practice?

Post by kellyfrost » Fri Apr 28, 2017 8:24 pm

In my experience, there wasn't much correlation between how well I did in certain law school classes and certain practice areas. For example, in practice I noticed I was really uncomfortable with any area of law at the beginning or when doing something new, regardless of how well or poorly I did in the class.