Does a CPA help working in/getting into BigLaw? Forum

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
shao

New

Does a CPA help working in/getting into BigLaw?

Post by shao » Sun Mar 12, 2017 6:35 am

Hey, guys.
I am a international student, non-native speaker, trying to adding more points to myself when looking for a job at BigLaw. Does "passing all CPA exam '(cannot get lisence though without WE) help your chance getting a biglaw job? And does it help with your job?

Appreciate any comment. Thank you for sharing.

qxfr

New

Re: Does a CPA help working in/getting into BigLaw?

Post by qxfr » Sun Mar 12, 2017 8:22 am

I can't speak to how it would help during the recruiting process.

But once you are in, assuming you are doing transactional work, it would help you a LOT. One of the big problems that a lot of associates have is that they can't properly read financial statements, and don't understand the implications of changes to financial definitions. If you've got that covered, you'll be way stronger than your peers.

shao

New

Post by shao » Sun Mar 12, 2017 11:43 am

Thanks a LOT! Very helpful :D
qxfr wrote:I can't speak to how it would help during the recruiting process.

But once you are in, assuming you are doing transactional work, it would help you a LOT. One of the big problems that a lot of associates have is that they can't properly read financial statements, and don't understand the implications of changes to financial definitions. If you've got that covered, you'll be way stronger than your peers.