How do I GTFO of biglaw (and firm practice) in only two years? Forum

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Anonymous User

How do I GTFO of biglaw (and firm practice) in only two years?

Post by Anonymous User » Fri Jan 20, 2017 3:18 pm

This may be a silly question, but bear with me.

I'm a first year corporate attorney at a V50 firm in Los Angeles. I did biglaw solely to service my debt. To that end, barring any unforeseen circumstances, I can be debt free early on in my 3rd year (so I'd leave as a 3rd year). I never really wanted to be at a firm. I dislike almost everything about firm life, having previously worked at a firm prior to law school. But I'm more debt adverse so I sold out.

Anyway, most of the conventional advice is that exit ops really open up in years 4-6, but I honestly don't think I can make it that far. And I don't want to waste away the prime years of my life slaving away in biglaw. That being said, going to midlaw, small law, or a boutique is not at all appealing.

Are there any realistic exit options as a 3rd year? In house, government, not sure what else is out there. I'm okay with a big pay cut - that's to be expected.

Anonymous User

Re: How do I GTFO of biglaw (and firm practice) in only two years?

Post by Anonymous User » Fri Jan 20, 2017 3:36 pm

Anonymous User wrote:This may be a silly question, but bear with me.