DOT Honors Program - Recruiter Taking Questions Forum

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Anonymous User

DOT Honors Program - Recruiter Taking Questions

Post by Anonymous User » Wed Aug 12, 2015 1:48 pm

When I was a student, I was always frustrated at the lack of info on the employment forum about Fed. Gov. positions, so I thought I'd post this to see what questions people have. I'm recruiting for the DOT Honors Attorney program class of 2016 (I also was hired through the program myself). Most schools should have an OCI or resume drop for the program, with deadlines between 8/14 and 8/31. I'm here to answer what questions I can about this program specifically, or government jobs more generally.

Info on the DOT program is here: http://www.transportation.gov/mission/a ... ey-program

Given what I know now, I think the DOT program in particular is underrated in the context of the federal government entry-level programs. The rotation process is fairly unique, and has significant benefits in letting you basically test-drive different practice areas before committing somewhere full time.

Anonymous User

Re: DOT Honors Program - Recruiter Taking Questions

Post by Anonymous User » Wed Aug 12, 2015 1:56 pm

How important are grades versus say, a commitment to government and having a good interview/cover letter?

What are you looking for in the interviews and cover letters?

How competitive is this program?

Anonymous User

Post by Anonymous User » Wed Aug 12, 2015 2:08 pm