Not happy with your choices for law school? Forum

Many years ago TLS held a content competition. The competition is no longer active, but this forum keeps going.
js87

Bronze

Not happy with your choices for law school?

Post by js87 » Mon May 17, 2010 10:17 am

TLS has helped me tremendously, from beginning to end, with the law school admissions process. I wanted to share my experience with the hope of giving back to the TLS community.

If you've finished the application process and you're unhappy with your choices for law school, read this. This post is designed to 1) assuage fears of taking time off to reapply, and 2) offer a basic primer for doing it.

Background
I graduated with my Bachelors in the Spring of 2009 (roughly one year ago, as of this posting). Like most eager, law school destined undergrads, I took the LSAT during the June of my Junior year. While I studied for it, I didn't prepare nearly well enough. I also had some family issues that unraveled in the weeks before the LSAT. It definitely hindered my ability. I scored a 161. My GPA was ~3.75.

The First Go
My goals were a bit hazy and unfounded, which I believe is a fairly common trait among the undergrad applicant cohort. I spent the summer between my junior and senior years diligently preparing my personal statement, resume, and applications. I applied nice and early to my list of schools. If memory serves, I applied to: University of Florida (resident), University of Miami, Fordham, Cardozo, Brooklyn, St. Johns, and Cornell (long shot).