LOR from foreign prof Forum

(housing, friendships, future exams, all things 2012)
wondermut206

New

LOR from foreign prof

Post by wondermut206 » Thu Jun 11, 2009 7:44 pm

I have a prof at my school that thinks highly of my work and seems to think I'm a good student (HA). I was thinking about asking her for a letter or recommendation. The problem is that she has a very think accent and has some trouble speaking English. I don't know how good her writing skills are but I'm a little concerned given her trouble with speaking the language. Does anyone have any experience with a similar issue? As I said before she thinks highly of my work and from what I've read it is best to get LOR's from prof's who are familiar with your work and can honestly speak highly of you.

You Gotta Have Faith

Bronze

Re: LOR from foreign prof

Post by You Gotta Have Faith » Thu Jun 11, 2009 7:54 pm

A foreigner wrote one of mine, and it worked out splendidly. Disclaimer: the prof's spouse was an English prof of some sort, so documents like that were sometimes looked at twice. In any case, a prof that is willing to brag on you is usually not a bad thing. Especially if their name is clearly foreign (indicating at least an understanding should anything grammatical happen), I'd say go for it.

wondermut206

New

Post by wondermut206 » Thu Jun 11, 2009 8:19 pm

How do you approach a professor for an LOR? Is an in person approach the best way or email?

You Gotta Have Faith

Bronze

Post by You Gotta Have Faith » Thu Jun 11, 2009 10:03 pm

wondermut206 wrote:How do you approach a professor for an LOR? Is an in person approach the best way or email?
Forgive the brevity, but I'm just going to copy my response to someone else who asked that question: