Letters of Rec 4 Years Out of School Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
FutureLawyer92

New

Letters of Rec 4 Years Out of School

Post by FutureLawyer92 » Tue Jul 16, 2019 3:25 pm

Hi all,

I'm currently applying for Fall 2020 entry and would love to get some insight on LORs. I graduated from a top public university in 2015, and have spent the past 4 years working full-time. Regrettably, I have not much kept in touch with many of my professors and worry that, even if I reached out to them now, the letters of rec I'd be able to get would be impersonal at best. My employers from the past several years, on the other hand, know me and my capabilities much better and I think would be able to write letters that much better reflect who I am and why I am applying to law school.

I currently work in research and my boss has a Ph. D. from an Ivy League university and used to teach graduate students - so I'm hoping that because she has "faculty-esque" experience, and can speak to my writing/reading/research capabilities, her letter can serve sort of the purpose that an academic letter would. My second letter is from a former supervisor who oversaw the work I did creating policy recommendations (which led to successfully enacted legislation) at the local government level - an experience that was a large motivator in my decision to apply for law school and that I plan to speak about in my PS.