Transcript says "Health Withdrawal" - do I need an addendum? (& separate personal statement question) Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
Nicobella

New

Transcript says "Health Withdrawal" - do I need an addendum? (& separate personal statement question)

Post by Nicobella » Wed Jun 12, 2019 11:17 am

My LSAC GPA is a 3.809, which doesn't need an addendum in itself obviously.

I'm an engineering student and have a 3.95 GPA in my arts and letters courses, which I was told is a good thing because an admissions counselor might look at those a little more for engineering.

I got a 3.3ish GPA my first semester of college due to anxiety and some family troubles, and then took the semester off for spring of my freshman year.

My transcript says health withdrawal on it. That's all it says, so if I don't tell them anything it simply looks like it could have been any sort of health issue. I still graduated in 7 semesters and my GPA went up to getting 3.93-4.0 for my last two years of college.

Do I need an addendum to explain that "health withdrawal" line or is it fine since I've proven I was just fine after it?

On an unrelated note, I'm confused about how to formulate a personal statement. I really want to do Patent law and feel that I could write a good personal statement about myself tying it into that, but if I had to write one for law in general I think I'd be a little stuck because I haven't really had exposure to any other type of law.

Advice would be greatly appreciated - thank you!

cavalier1138

Re: Transcript says "Health Withdrawal" - do I need an addendum? (& separate personal statement question)

Post by cavalier1138 » Wed Jun 12, 2019 12:36 pm

I think a "health withdrawal" is probably something you should explain, especially because the semester off is going to make it clear that something serious happened. Keep it simple, and include a line about your subsequent performance being a more accurate portrayal of your aptitude.