Should I wait out this cycle or go all in?

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
mattclew23

New

Should I wait out this cycle or go all in?

Postby mattclew23 » Wed Jun 12, 2019 12:55 am

Hey everyone! Long-time lurker first time poster. I was hoping that I could get some advice from some of you regarding my situation and what you would do in my shoes. I graduated from college about a year ago and have been working at my current job ever since. My wife (25) and I (24) have been married for about a year and a half and live in Utah near her family.

I have been studying for the LSAT since January and have seen a pretty good increase in my practice scores since then (151 blind ---> 162 latest). I am registered to take the July test and hoping to score at least a 165. If I don't, I will cancel my score and schedule a re-take in September.

My wife and I are going back and forth on whether or not I should even apply to schools this cycle. We are planning on having a child within the next year and are trying to save up some funds to establish an emergency fund and have some living expenses for when I am eventually in law school. We both do not have any student loans, no credit card debt, and only have a small car payment ($180/month) and her tuition for a certification program (~$300/month).

Do any of you see any clear advantages/disadvantages to waiting until next year to apply for school? I see the pros as giving me more time to study, improve my score, save up financially, and get accustomed to parenthood. I see the cons as I may be missing out on practicing law a year earlier, I would be 27 at the time I enter school (are there any disadvantages to being older as a 1L?) and 30 by the time I graduate, and that I am just kicking the can down the road when I am already eager to get moving!

Thank you all so much for any feedback you have. Like I said, we are both torn on the issue and would appreciate any advice!

cavalier1138

Platinum