2.2 GPA. Taking the LSAT on June 3. Is it worth it? Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
redman443

New

2.2 GPA. Taking the LSAT on June 3. Is it worth it?

Post by redman443 » Wed May 22, 2019 11:54 pm

I know, my GPA is absolutely atrocious, but before you judge me and say "Does he even belong in law school?" Let me explain the entire situation. Ever since I was in the third grade, I have wanted to become a lawyer. I think that I have always been very bright, I scored great on my standardized tests in high school and scored great on the SAT and made mostly Bs in high school with some As and few Cs peppered in here and there. I was a member of the key club, leadership team and participated in student government. Despite my successes in high school, I had a very up and down undergraduate career. I started at a community college after I graduated from high school. I went through some very difficult family issues in my first half of my undergrad career and as a result, I had a difficult time adjusting to the rigor of college coursework. I dropped out of the community college the fall of my second year in undergrad and my family convinced me to go back and transfer to a university. I returned to my community college that following spring and over the next 2 semesters, drastically improved my GPA and in the fall of 2015, transferred to Auburn University, where I picked history as my major. I would come to regret this decision because I wanted to major in political science but my family convinced me to major in history because it is something that I would supposedly excel in. This was a big mistake and the issues that plagued me in community college reared their ugly head even more when I was at Auburn. When I say this, I am not looking for pity when I say this because I want those who are reading to fully understand my situation. My Grandmother, who is a very important figure in our family started having heart issues and my parents split and g