Relative Merit of Letters of Recommendation: Which is best? Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
Nyamekye514

New

Relative Merit of Letters of Recommendation: Which is best?

Post by Nyamekye514 » Wed May 15, 2019 12:01 pm

I am currently an undergraduate student studying computer engineering with the intent to attend law school. I have run into a situation requiring me to choose between potential letters of recommendation.

I have a professor in the engineering department who is a patent attorney. I did well in one of his classes and plan to take another during the Fall 2019 semester. I am confident his recommendation would be good, but he does not write recommendations for students unless they work for him as a teaching assistant. I am on track to work for him, but it would require me to stay for the Spring 2020 semester. If I passed on this opportunity I could graduate in December 2019.

A second potential letter would come from a professor in the physics department with whom I have worked since 2016. I have not taken any classes from him, but I have performed well in an engineering capacity as a research assistant. I am confident he would give me a good recommendation.

Finally, I am considering pursuing a job as a patent engineer at a nearby law firm. I could potentially wait to do this until Fall 2020, but it would likely be advantageous to start work in January 2020 instead. That option would not allow me to work as a TA for my professor. However, I would imagine that a letter of recommendation from my potential employer would be helpful on a law school application.

Which letters of recommendation would be most effective on my law school application?

cavalier1138

Re: Relative Merit of Letters of Recommendation: Which is best?

Post by cavalier1138 » Wed May 15, 2019 12:10 pm

Most schools prefer letters from professors.