Applying to Law School with only 4 semesters of undergrad grades Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
lpmahone

New

Applying to Law School with only 4 semesters of undergrad grades

Post by lpmahone » Thu Mar 28, 2019 5:05 pm

I'm wondering if any of you guys know how the following will impact how my application is received. I'm in my second year of college, but I took a bunch of AP's in high school so I'm graduating next year (Spring 2020). I'm applying to law school in the fall, when I'll have 4 semesters of grades to submit in my application. I've known I wanted to go to law school and work in Big Law for a while now, and currently have a 3.97 GPA which will be anywhere from a 3.93-3.98 after this semester. I'm starting to study for the LSAT now and scored a 155 in my PT, but I'm not good with time constraints and I know my GPA is going to be the strength of my application. But how will the T14's weigh my 4 semesters versus most applicants 6 or 8 semesters of work? Will I have to overcompensate on my LSAT or personal statement to prove I'm ready for law school? (Btw If it helps I'm at a pretty decent undergrad college, Syracuse University.) Eager to hear your responses

cavalier1138

Re: Applying to Law School with only 4 semesters of undergrad grades

Post by cavalier1138 » Thu Mar 28, 2019 5:26 pm

Slow down.

You're what? 19? The issue here isn't that you'll have too few semesters of grades. The issue is that if you can get a higher LSAT (think way higher than your diagnostic), you might actually get into a T13 and go next year. You'd be setting yourself up for a bad time going this young, and you'd benefit massively from taking a few years to work/live before coming back to law school, if that's still what you want by that time.