is it worth to go to the University of Florida, LLM tax Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
wuwanlu

New

is it worth to go to the University of Florida, LLM tax

Post by wuwanlu » Wed Mar 13, 2019 10:10 pm

Hi guys,

I was admitted to the University of Florida, LLM in tax. I have a JD degree and is graduating in this May.

My law school is ranking at 39th this year, and my GPA is about 3.3 (not journal, not moot court).

I don't know which legal area I am interested in, but I know that I don't want to do criminal, immigration, and family law.

The only legal area that I am really interested in is the transaction law (specifically, M & A). However, my GPA would not bring me to a big law which mostly like to have M & A cases.

The dilemma is I can probably end up with a small law firm, and doing, I don't know, any basic legal issues. That's is not I am looking for in my career.

My question is base on this background, can a Tax LLM at the university of Florida bring me a higher start point for my career? In other words, would the outcome of finishing the LLM degree in Tax would be greatly different with my current situation?

I am grateful for your suggestions.

Thank you in advance.

QContinuum

Re: is it worth to go to the University of Florida, LLM tax

Post by QContinuum » Wed Mar 13, 2019 10:14 pm

Don't do a Tax LL.M. unless you want to be a tax lawyer. A Tax LL.M. will not get you a BigLaw M&A job.

A Tax LL.M., especially from a non-NYU Tax LL.M. program, is not even likely to land you a BigLaw Tax job. Even from NYU, the strongest Tax LL.M. program in the country, the "typical good" outcome is a Big4 Tax job (and even Big4 Tax isn't guaranteed).

Also, don't go to UF unless you're comfortable working in Florida after graduation.

Did you get into NYU or Georgetown?

wuwanlu

New

Post by wuwanlu » Fri Mar 15, 2019 1:05 am

I did not apply for other tax programs because they are so expensive.