Applying after PhD - Questions about Letter Writers and GRE vs LSAT Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
ihrenalten

New

Applying after PhD - Questions about Letter Writers and GRE vs LSAT

Post by ihrenalten » Sun Feb 24, 2019 8:33 pm

I am a currently ABD doctoral student in the STEM subjects. Throughout undergrad I was interested in law school, but ended up taking a fully funded PhD offer instead, which turned out to be a mistake. I am intending to apply to law schools, matriculating in either Fall 2020 or 2021. My advisor and I had sort of fallen out, and he is unsupportive of my decision to go to law school (thinks I'm crazy, strongly wants me to stay in academia, talks about it every other week). But I wrote enough papers to graduate smoothly next year, so it should have no impact.

Unfortunately, aside from him and one other research advisor (who also argued strongly against me going to law school), it is difficult for me to come up with other recommendation letter writers who both know me well and have been in recent contact. I can contact my previous professors from undergrad, but we haven't been in contact for 5+ years. Another option is to find a job and work a bit after my PhD and get my bosses to write the letters. I don't know whether any of these options make sense. Who should I seek to be my letter writers?