Low GPA from a top ranking school with deflation Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
lawsofphysics333

New

Low GPA from a top ranking school with deflation

Post by lawsofphysics333 » Sun Feb 10, 2019 4:16 pm

Hi I am currently a senior at the University of Chicago and I have a GPA that is quite low for law school admissions (~3.4). I have no special reasons to explain this low GPA, other than UChicago is somewhat known for deflation and I majored in Physics... I also minored in Philosophy and got all A-s and As in those courses, so I guess I should have switched out of Physics a long time ago...

I took LSAT this past September and got a 165 on the test. It is not stellar but I only did 2 or 3 PTs before the test so I want to believe I could study harder and get a 170+/175+ in the next year or so.
I did not apply this cycle and plan to get a Masters in Computer Science for the next year and half, and apply to law school in fall 2020.
Will getting a better GPA for my Masters degree alleviate my terrible undergrad GPA? Will having a 175+ help with the situation? I have browsed lawschoolnumbers and this forum for the low GPA/high LSAT splitters infos and I know it will be possible to get into at least a T14 if I do get that LSAT score, but what about HYS/CCN? Will the fact that my undergrad institution is known for grade deflation matter in law school admission committee's eyes? I know it does play some parts in grad school admissions, but I'm not sure whether this matters at all for law school admissions...

I guess my main questions is: with 3.4 gpa from a grade deflated university, and the possibility of a higher grad gpa, and a 175+ LSAT score, should I try for HYS/CCN? I am not URM (asian female).

albanach

Gold

Re: Low GPA from a top ranking school with deflation

Post by albanach » Mon Feb 11, 2019 1:35 pm