Is it too late to apply in this cycle? Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
Lxwind

New

Is it too late to apply in this cycle?

Post by Lxwind » Sun Jan 27, 2019 2:38 am

Hi all, I have a 174 LSAT and a Superior GPA (from a foreign univ). I have a master's degree in public administration and have been working full time since last August. I'm working in a non-profit legal/advocacy group and I recently confirmed my passion to pursue a JD degree and practice law afterward. Question is, is it still not too late to apply for the class of 2019? I have talked with contacts about recommendation letters and can probably obtain 3~4 of them within a week or so. All I seem to lack is the PS, I can try and get that done asap. Do you guys think it is a better idea to try to apply this cycle and try again in September if necessary, or is it better to just wait for September? Thanks!

AJordan

Silver

Re: Is it too late to apply in this cycle?

Post by AJordan » Sun Jan 27, 2019 9:02 am

It's not too late, especially with those numbers. The issue is money. If you need scholarships you might run into some potential problems. Hamiltons, Dillards, and Mordecais have already gone out, at least the first batch, so you're behind there. But if you're not money conscious it's not really an issue. If you're looking at HYS, which you should be, it's definitely not too late as they only give merit aid anyway. Really, it's all about money. If you have a grand to drop for this cycle and see what happens that's fine as long as your end goals are commensurate with the money you're going to receive.

QContinuum

Post by QContinuum » Sun Jan 27, 2019 12:29 pm