Law School vs Engineering Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
dassale1

New

Law School vs Engineering

Post by dassale1 » Mon Jan 21, 2019 10:37 am

I read a post about someone that would like to go to law school and is wondering if she/he has to do it given she/he hasn't start working yet. My case is similar but a bit different ( lol) so I would really appreciate your input.

I'm a 27 years old AA woman. I've been working as a petroleum engineer for like 4 years but I want to go to law school. As far as I can remember, I always wanted to be a lawyer. However, after getting my bachelor, I kept postponing and postponing. Today I am married and have a baby but I feel like I'm getting old so it's time for me to go to LS before it's too late. I have a 6 figures salary and a good life I would say but I want to go to law school and practice in a big law firm or as a federal clerk. Some people ( not knowing anything about the law) have told me that it's quite stupid to quit everything and go to law school especially since I'm the main breadwinner. I don't hate my job... but I don't love it maybe because law school has always been in the back of my mind.

What do you guys think? I need your honest opinion please.

Thank you

QContinuum

Re: Law School vs Engineering

Post by QContinuum » Mon Jan 21, 2019 1:14 pm

It sounds like you have a burning desire to practice law.

Economically, you'd probably be better off staying in engineering, where it sounds like you have a good, lucrative job. But I think happiness is also important, and if you'd be miserable giving up on your dream of being a lawyer, I think that's powerful stuff.

Have you taken any practice LSATs yet? What's your undergraduate GPA (if you attended more than one college, what's your cumulative undergrad GPA)? I think that to achieve your BigLaw/clerkship goals, and to make a switch to law reasonable, you should be targeting the T13.

dassale1

New