Does legal assistant/paralegal experience really help? Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
dassale1

New

Does legal assistant/paralegal experience really help?

Post by dassale1 » Mon Jan 14, 2019 12:00 pm

I currently work as a petroleum engineer but I don't really like my job and it is really hard to study for the LSAT when working 12+ hours a day. I read that firms and law school admissions ( especially HYS CCN) really like to see some prior law related experience in your resume. Is it true? Though the pay cut from engineer to paralegal is a lot, if being a paralegal is a very important soft, I think I gonna go for it. What do you think?

Kaziende

Bronze

Re: Does legal assistant/paralegal experience really help?

Post by Kaziende » Mon Jan 14, 2019 12:44 pm

dassale1 wrote:I currently work as a petroleum engineer but I don't really like my job and it is really hard to study for the LSAT when working 12+ hours a day. I read that firms and law school admissions ( especially HYS CCN) really like to see some prior law related experience in your resume. Is it true? Though the pay cut from engineer to paralegal is a lot, if being a paralegal is a very important soft, I think I gonna go for it. What do you think?
Paralegal work is definitely not the kind of soft that makes a law school applicant stand out. It's totally cookie cutter for an HYSCCN applicant to have paralegal experience, but that doesn't mean it helps with admissions.

Your LSAT / GPA combo is pretty much all that matters in your admission to HCCN, and YS will not look any more favorably on paralegal experience than any other kind of work experience (especially not engineering, which is a relatively unusual soft that might actually play in your favor).