When is the right time to start studying the lsat? Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
criminologygeek

New

When is the right time to start studying the lsat?

Post by criminologygeek » Wed Jan 09, 2019 6:51 pm

I'm currently in my 2nd semester of freshman year (I know it's very early) but I really want to make sure I have everything right- I rather study hard for the lsat and get a good score in the 170's than retake it multiple times and look messy on my record. With that being said, when's the best time to start studying?

albanach

Gold

Re: When is the right time to start studying the lsat?

Post by albanach » Wed Jan 09, 2019 8:28 pm

At the moment you have control over your GPA. After you graduate, your GPA is fixed. So spend your time and energy at the moment on the academics. Maybe in a year or two you could take a diagnostic and see how you do there, then start some very gentle study.

Above all else, don't do anything to the detriment of your GPA. It would almost always be better to leave the LSAT until after you finish school if that means you can graduate 0.1 points higher.

cavalier1138

Post by cavalier1138 » Wed Jan 09, 2019 9:22 pm

Literally anything else would be a better use of your time right now. You shouldn't even be beginning to think about the LSAT for another three years.

BrainsyK

Bronze

Post by BrainsyK » Wed Jan 09, 2019 10:11 pm

I'll go against the grain and say that I started studying the summer before junior year and am glad I did. I studied way longer than average person and barely got a score I was happy with. I was able to keep a straight 4.0 after I started LSAT study so it didn't affect my GPA, which is a sentiment I'd echo. If you're going to risk your GPA, then leave the LSAT alone.

Res publica

New

Post by Res publica » Sun Jan 13, 2019 2:06 am