UVA Law Chances Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
ree5031

New

UVA Law Chances

Post by ree5031 » Tue Jan 08, 2019 12:03 pm

Hello all,

I am seeking some advice about my chances for admission to UVA Law School.

I graduated in 2014 from Penn State main campus after starting in 2009. I took a couple of years off, but would have most likely graduated early otherwise. I finished my undergraduate career with a double major in Philosophy and Political Science. My LSAC GPA is probably going to end up being a 3.27, with a much stronger second half of my academic career.

Let me address what I see as a potential problem with respect to my application to UVA: my lack of work experience. I did not do an internship in college, and I have not had a job since 2012. This is primarily due to the fact that I live in an economically-disadvantaged area, as well as the fact that I have an autism spectrum disorder which has caused me problems.

So basically what I am asking is this: if I score a 170 or higher on the LSAT, plus find a way to address my lack of work experience, do I have a good chance at admission to UVA law, especially if I apply early decision? Any advice will be deeply appreciated, as I am trying to grasp what I should do going forward. Thanks.

cavalier1138

Re: UVA Law Chances

Post by cavalier1138 » Tue Jan 08, 2019 1:41 pm

A 170+ would put you in a good place for UVA.

Your lack of work experience might require an addendum (adcomms might wonder what you were doing during your gap years), but it's not worth worrying about. First get a 170+, which is much easier said than done.

QContinuum

Post by QContinuum » Tue Jan 08, 2019 10:27 pm