e-Discovery Paralegal? Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
Anonymous User

e-Discovery Paralegal?

Post by Anonymous User » Tue Dec 18, 2018 10:17 pm

Hi all,

I am a recent college graduate, and I was interested in getting some work experience prior to attending law school and applied to local paralegal gigs and landed an interview for an e-discovery paralegal position. I was wondering how this position differs from a regular paralegal position, and whether assisting attorneys with discovery develops any substantive skills that can be transferable to law school etc.

I have read all over the forum that discovery is basically document review, but I want to know what I am signing up for. Is this good work experience prior to law school, or would It be better to do something else (an alternative job I have lined up is being an administrative assistant for a university).

QContinuum

Re: e-Discovery Paralegal?

Post by QContinuum » Tue Dec 18, 2018 10:24 pm

Anonymous User wrote:whether assisting attorneys with discovery develops any substantive skills that can be transferable to law school etc.
No. Law school is quite divorced from the actual practice of law. The main advantage of gaining WE before law school is to gain maturity and perspective, and perhaps also an inside look into what it's like in BigLaw or PI. No job is going to give anyone a head start on law school.
Anonymous User wrote:would It be better to do something else (an alternative job I have lined up is being an administrative assistant for a university).
Unless you're interested in becoming an e-discovery staff attorney/doc review contractor after law school, I'd lean in favor of the administrative assistant gig. That gig will almost certainly be LOADS easier than the e-discovery paralegal gig. Academic admin positions are generally pretty cushy. The e-discovery gig might very well work you to the bone.

Anonymous User

Post by Anonymous User » Tue Dec 18, 2018 10:40 pm