Much Older Applicant- Advice Needed! Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
josephsilva67

New

Much Older Applicant- Advice Needed!

Post by josephsilva67 » Mon Dec 17, 2018 8:42 pm

Hello all,

I'm 51 years old and strongly considering applying to law school. As a bit of background, I currently work in Los Angeles in the entertainment industry. I had always wanted to attend law school; however, circumstances at the time necessitated entering the job market immediately out of undergrad, and raising a family became a priority. Now, with savings and grown children, money isn't that much of an issue - and I'd like to pursue this goal.

I started studying for the LSAT this past August, on weekends and at nights where I could, and ended up scoring a 168 on the November test. I managed to dig up my undergraduate transcripts, and have a GPA of 3.60. Due to my family and wife's career, I need to stay in the Los Angeles area. This means I'll likely end up at one of UCLA, USC, or UC Irvine depending on how the cycle goes (if I'm assessing my chances correctly).

My main question is how schools would evaluate a candidate that is much older than the norm. How would this impact my chances when it comes to job placements? Are firms likely to look down upon a candidate that clearly wouldn't be able to be in it for the "long haul"? I suppose I would only be able to work in the legal world for about 15 years, since I want to retire when I'm 70. Any insight you could provide would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks for all your help in advance!

nixy

Gold

Re: Much Older Applicant- Advice Needed!

Post by nixy » Mon Dec 17, 2018 10:43 pm