Early Undergraduate Completion Questions Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
WorseBerceo

New

Early Undergraduate Completion Questions

Post by WorseBerceo » Wed Oct 24, 2018 3:30 pm

Hello All, this is my first post here, so I'm sorry if there are rules that I mess up in this post.

I am an undergraduate student in my second year at a state school looking to go to law school. I completed a large amount of my course work before coming here through AP and transfer credits, as such, I was planning on graduating in three years. My graduation timeline is due to financial reasons, but I am aware that applying too early and only having two years of grades from my undergraduate would hurt me when applying to more selective law programs, so I am planning on taking a gap year to work before applying.

Currently, I am double majored in Spanish and Political Science. I am taking upper level courses in both of these subjects which are primarily focused on the field of Spanish Literature and International Relations. My GPA is a 4.0 at this point, and I believe that it will stay that way for the foreseeable future. Additionally, I work 20 hours a week for the University that I am attending and I plan on being an RA next year. I have leadership positions in two relatively large student organizations, for which I write grant applications. One of the major issues that I see in my extracurricular set up is that I lack relevant experience in political and legal fields, which I plan to fix in my next year of undergraduate study and the gap year I am going to take.

The questions I have are as follows:

1. If I were to take a lighter course schedule (4 classes out of a maximum of 6) in the next three semesters I am enrolled in undergrad, would it substantially hurt my admission chances at top law schools?
2. Is there anything else that I can do to improve my chances at getting into a top law school?