Switch to ED? Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
whydoieven

New

Switch to ED?

Post by whydoieven » Sat Oct 13, 2018 2:05 pm

Hi, I have applied to most of the T14 and a couple of other schools outside it so far. I have a CAS GPA of 3.5 and an LSAT of 178. I have a couple years of corporate work experience but not much to speak of in terms of "softs" outside of that.

So far I have been WL'd by Duke, and I have noticed a missing word, albeit a pretty minor one, in an addendum I attached to most of my apps (kill me...). I am starting to seriously consider switching to ED at my target, Chicago, though I'm not sure if you really get the ED "bump" if you switch to ED after the fact...?

I have read conflicting reports about whether or not ED makes sense for splitters, anyone have experience with this?

QContinuum

Re: Switch to ED?

Post by QContinuum » Sat Oct 13, 2018 6:37 pm

I'd wait it out in your position - with a 3.5/178, you should be in a good position for acceptances to multiple T13s and possibly $ at some of the lower ones. Which ones did you not apply to? I'd make sure to hit all of 'em, particularly toward the "bottom".

NW has an ED scholly deal that might make sense - but I don't think ED confers much of an advantage at any of the other T13s.

whydoieven

New

Post by whydoieven » Sat Oct 13, 2018 8:39 pm

Haven't applied at Berkeley, Columbia, and Georgetown yet.

Trying to think about how to approach the Columbia PS, kind of has me stumped.

QContinuum

Post by QContinuum » Sat Oct 13, 2018 9:28 pm

whydoieven wrote:Haven't applied at Berkeley, Columbia, and Georgetown yet.

Trying to think about how to approach the Columbia PS, kind of has me stumped.
I'd definitely apply to all of Berkeley, Columbia, and Georgetown. Given splitter unpredictability, now's not the time to economize on application fees.