Solid career managing a software team. Should I make the leap? Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
mtxv14

New

Solid career managing a software team. Should I make the leap?

Post by mtxv14 » Thu Aug 30, 2018 12:33 pm

I've got a great career that I'm getting bored with. I graduated with my bachelors in Computer Science with a minor in Philosophy(3.4 GPA) in 2012 and since then I moved quickly from SE (Software Engineer) to Senior SE, to managing SE's. It's lucrative, stable, and I do well in my role. My tech is strong, management skills are progressing.

My wife is an attorney who's been practicing for 14 years. She went to top 20 at the time, and is supportive. We have no kids, will never have any kids, and she has a strong career in-house. Note that this also means that needs-based financial aid is not an option as we have a high income. On the plus side, we're not bound to any location. I favor Boston because we have friends in Cambridge (one's a researcher at Harvard and his wife went to UConn Law and works for a large firm now).

I've begun prepping for the LSAT and my first full practice test was a 158. After prepping for a week I upped it to 164 and I feel like 170-174 is achievable by the November LSAT.

I've told my wife that it's top 6 or bust with my preference being top 3. I believe my GPA being a touch low, despite CS being a hard program, is mitigated by my non-traditional status, 1st generation college graduate, and VA-rated veteran status. I also have solid experience consulting with the Department of Justice on top of my corporate career.

My reasons for wanting to become a lawyer are for similar reasons I enjoy software development. I like challenging problems and crafting solutions.

Am I nuts for giving up a great career in my mid-30's? Is my expectation to get into HYS with a 3.4, 172, and other factors unreasonable? Am I mistaken on what the work will be like?

mmac

New