Undergraduate institution for Harvard law school Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
JamieK03

New

Undergraduate institution for Harvard law school

Post by JamieK03 » Sat Aug 04, 2018 10:28 pm

Hi everyone. I am currently studying the LLB at the University of Manchester, on my way to graduating with a first class honours.

I understand that Harvard looks at the LSAT and GPA, but do they also scrutinise the undergraduate institution of the applicant? I am a little worried that my current university might adversely influence my chances even if everything else about my application (extra-curricular, grades, LSAT etc...) are great and competitive.

Thanks!

QContinuum

Re: Undergraduate institution for Harvard law school

Post by QContinuum » Sun Aug 12, 2018 1:04 am

From my observations, LSAT and uGPA are king, but an applicant from a less prestigious college will generally need a somewhat higher LSAT and/or uGPA to be considered "on par" with an applicant from, say, Princeton. I know "somewhat higher" is vague, but I don't think there's publicly available data that can allow us to formulate a more precise answer.

Why are you interested particularly in HLS?

SFSpartan

Silver

Post by SFSpartan » Sun Aug 12, 2018 2:42 pm

HLS probably doesn't care about your undergraduate institution, and to the extent that it does, it probably only cares on the margins.

Dcc617

Gold

Post by Dcc617 » Sun Aug 12, 2018 3:13 pm

Doesn’t LSAC treat international applicant GPAs differently than US ones?

Pneumonia

Gold

Post by Pneumonia » Sun Aug 12, 2018 11:04 pm

QContinuum wrote:From my observations, LSAT and uGPA are king, but an applicant from a less prestigious college will generally need a somewhat higher LSAT and/or uGPA to be considered "on par" with an applicant from, say, Princeton. I know "somewhat higher" is vague, but I don't think there's publicly available data that can allow us to formulate a more precise answer.