International (Saudi) applicant looking for advice on applying to T-6 schools. 173 LSAT and 'Superior' GPA.

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
IrritatedlyMinty

New

International (Saudi) applicant looking for advice on applying to T-6 schools. 173 LSAT and 'Superior' GPA.

Postby IrritatedlyMinty » Sun Jul 08, 2018 9:21 am

Good morning everyone!

I'm very happy with my June LSAT score (173), it's more or less my target from when I first considered going to law school. However, there are still other factors that paint a little uncertainty on my application; namely that I am going to be an International student (Saudi Arabian national), and I am foreign educated (Australia). I hope that some of you can help shed a little light on my chances at my desired schools, and to answer some specific questions I had.

I have a Bachelor's degree in Software Engineering from a top 8 university in Australia. As my undergrad is from a foreign country, my uGPA is not used as a quantitive measure, but rather LSAC slaps on a categorical indicator for my academic performance. Fortunately, LSAC assigned me a "Superior" category after having processed my transcription. My Australian GPA is 3.56; by using the methodology that the LSAC uses for converting Australian grades, I calculated it to be 3.91. That doesn't really count for much, as I discovered, as foreign GPAs simply don't count in law schools' statistics and ultimately irrelevant from an admission perspective except for an indication of the student's potential academic performance at the school.