Young professional with consulting experience looking to potentially transition into law school Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
dawncheadle

New

Young professional with consulting experience looking to potentially transition into law school

Post by dawncheadle » Sat Jul 07, 2018 12:00 pm

Hi,

I'm currently a consultant for a large consulting firm following my undergrad at a top Canadian school. My initial goal going into university was to pursue law school, but I had a great opportunity that I chose to take.

Most people with similar work experience as I do elect to go to a T14 school in the states for their MBA. However, I'm just not sure if I truly want to be in the business world itself. Am I competitive for prestigious law schools in Canada/US with the following profile:

720 GMAT (if this is could somehow be indicative of potential LSAT performance)
2 years of management consulting experience (with excellent reviews)
3.6 GPA (3.92 in final two years)
Excellent undergraduate extra-curricular experience (program president, founded an extremely prestigious and large campus event)
Average extra-curricular experience following graduation
Good volunteering experience pre-and-post graduation

I also truly believe that I can get great academic or professional references if necessary.

Is there a chance for a good school? My main concern is my time away from school and my relatively weak GPA. I am willing on taking an LSAT course and have always performed well on standardized tests, so I feel as though I can reach the 20-80 percentile score for *most* programs.

Let me know what you guys think!

BrainsyK

Bronze

Re: Young professional with consulting experience looking to potentially transition into law school

Post by BrainsyK » Sat Jul 07, 2018 7:47 pm