Good or Bad Position? Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
Ditmores

New

Good or Bad Position?

Post by Ditmores » Sun May 27, 2018 3:15 pm

Hi,
I'm new here, but I joined to inquire about my potential to get into a top 25-30 law school.

Undergrad GPA: 3.68 (Political Science/Mass Communications) Wayland Baptist University
Grad GPA: 3.55 (Library Science) University of North Texas

I've been a professional librarian since May 2013, but I've never considered it to be a long-term career. I was a student-employee in the library as an undergrad, enjoyed the job well-enough and got an MLS because I didn't really know what I wanted to do. I've always been interested in the law and in being a lawyer, but coming from a relatively humble background, feelings of inadequacy would always prevent me from pursuing that interest.

I've always done well on standardized tests, so I'm confident I can get a good LSAT score. My biggest concern is that after obtaining my MLS, I thought I enrolled in a Masters of Arts in Counseling program. I soon realized that working as a counselor wasn't really for me, a lot was going on in my life, I was working full-time, trying to help my parents through a divorce, and I fell behind in a Research Methods class. Most of the grade was a final project, I kept telling myself I could catch up so I didn't withdraw, but when I finally sat down to get the work done on the last day of class I realized there was no catching up and I got an F. It feels like a huge mistake now, and I'm especially concerned about the timing of it (later in my college career). How concerned should I be? If the schools I'm most interested in are the University of Texas (locale) and Notre Dame (because it's a Catholic school and I really relate to its mission and the emphasis it places on improving the world around us), do I still have a chance at these? What kind of LSAT score would I need to get?

P.S.